Need Help? Call (800) 942-9412, Monday-Friday, 8:00am – 4:30pm Call (800) 942-9412

Wellsky logo CRIS Community Resource Information System

Illinois Attorney General - Crime Victim Assistance

Address

100 West Randolph Street
13th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601

(800) 228-3368

www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/victims/index.html

Description:

Provides financial support to those who have been a victim or witness to a violent crime.

Hours:

Monday to Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Intake Process:

(1) Download application with detailed instructions from the website, or call the toll-free number to have application mailed to you
(2) Person who was victim of the violent crime in question should fill out the application; Victims under 18 years of age must have the form signed by a parent or legal guardian
(3) Copies of all required documentation must be mailed with the completed application to the address listed
(4) If applicant is determined eligible for the program, additional forms will be sent to the applicant which must be completed and returned within 30 days

Program Fees:

No fees

Languages:

(1) Spanish
(2) Polish

Eligibility:

(1) Victim or witness to a violent crime
(2) Notification sent to law enforcement within 72 hours of the crime or within 7 days for sexual assaults
(3) File an application within 2 years of the date of the crime or within 1 year of the filing of a criminal charge, whichever is later
(4) Cooperate with law enforcement officials in the apprehension and criminal prosecution of the offender. However, it is not necessary for an offender to be apprehended for a
victim to be eligible for the Compensation Program.
(5) Cooperate with the Office of the Illinois Attorney General and submit and verify information about the crime victim!€™s compensation claim.
(6) The victim must not have contributed to his/her injury by: engaging in a wrongful act, being the offender or accomplice of the offender, or substantially provoking the incident.
(7) An individual is not eligible to be paid compensation until the victim is released from probation, parole, mandatory supervised release for a felony or from a correctional institution. However, the claim must still be filed within 2 years of the date of the crime or 1 year of the criminal charge, whichever is later.

Handicap Accessible?

No

Is Shelter?

No

Date of Official Change:

November 13, 2019

Address Listings

Physical (Primary)

100 West Randolph Street
13th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601

Contacts

Crime Victim Services

Phone Numbers

Toll-free

(800) 228-3368

Fax

(312) 814-4231

Main

(312) 814-2581

TTY

(877) 398-1130

Legal Status:

Government - State

Description

Provides financial support to those who have been a victim or witness to a violent crime.

Hours

Monday to Friday, 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Required Documents

(1) Completed application that can be found online, http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/victims/cvc.html (2) Police report (3) Police report number (4) Additional documentation that pertaining to the case (i.e. order of protection, medical bills, etc.)

Eligibility

(1) Victim or witness to a violent crime (2) Notification sent to law enforcement within 72 hours of the crime or within 7 days for sexual assaults (3) File an application within 2 years of the date of the crime or within 1 year of the filing of a criminal charge, whichever is later (4) Cooperate with law enforcement officials in the apprehension and criminal prosecution of the offender. However, it is not necessary for an offender to be apprehended for a victim to be eligible for the Compensation Program. (5) Cooperate with the Office of the Illinois Attorney General and submit and verify information about the crime victim’s compensation claim. (6) The victim must not have contributed to his/her injury by: engaging in a wrongful act, being the offender or accomplice of the offender, or substantially provoking the incident. (7) An individual is not eligible to be paid compensation until the victim is released from probation, parole, mandatory supervised release for a felony or from a correctional institution. However, the claim must still be filed within 2 years of the date of the crime or 1 year of the criminal charge, whichever is later.

Fees

None

Intake Procedure

(1) Download application with detailed instructions from the website, or call the toll-free number to have application mailed to you (2) Person who was victim of the violent crime in question should fill out the application; Victims under 18 years of age must have the form signed by a parent or legal guardian (3) Copies of all required documentation must be mailed with the completed application to the address listed (4) If applicant is determined eligible for the program, additional forms will be sent to the applicant which must be completed and returned within 30 days

Languages

(1) Spanish (2) Polish

Geography Served

    If a location is grayed out it means that only certain areas within it are covered. The areas with complete coverage are listed in black.

  • Illinois
    Edit Service DetailsClick here to see this service (FN-1900) and related services within the Service Tree.

    Send profile information to an email address.

    Provide your email address to receive information about Illinois Attorney General - Crime Victim Assistance.

    Sent!

    Please enter a valid email address.

    Close this field

    Send a condensed resource profile to your phone via text message (SMS).

    Select your cell carrier and provide your phone number to receive information about Illinois Attorney General - Crime Victim Assistance.

    Sent!

    Please enter a valid phone number.

    Please select a carrier.

    Standard text messaging rates may apply from your carrier. Some mobile carriers are inconsistent in their delivery of provider profiles sent to phones. If you do not receive a message within a few minutes please contact the provider directly for assistance.

    Close this field

    Want to save this page for later?
    Create a free account!

    .